NYC Day 2: Blisters & Sweet Delights!

Sunday bloody Sunday.

Days mean nothing to me here. We’re behind Sydney time, and I often only know what day it is from the title of the page I’m following in my notebook.

I realised on Sunday morning that there was a LOT I want to get through while here in New York, and so packed my Sunday schedule full of different things that I wanted to do.

Before I left Sydney I bought a New York Pass, which, for $130, gets you into 55 of New Yorks top attractions over 3 days, a lot of which I wanted to see and do, so a good saving, and also a good way to budget and not be handing out cash here there and everywhere for attractions.

I went to the American Museum of Natural History first thing on Sunday morning. It was also my first time catching the subway (and on my own!!) but it’s actually quite easy to figure out, as the subway map shows you where you can transfer and what trains you can transfer to. It’s also a great cheap way of getting around, because you can go as far as you want for $2.25.

The museum was pretty much that, a museum, but I specifically wanted to go there to see the dinosaur skeletons. I underestimated the time I needed there (only allocating 2 hours, when realistically I could have easily spent 4 hours browsing the exhibits).

Afterwards I caught the subway down to Times Square, and went and checked out Madame Tussaurds. The Jonas Brothers statues weren’t out, but I was excited (well, as excited as one can get seeing wax sculptures) to see the Rob Pattinson. The most surprising was the Spice Girls (had no idea they were there). I’m definitely foreseeing Taylor Swift and Justin Bieber waxes in the near future.

The big highlight of my day was to be my next stop – the Food on Foot Sweet Tooth tour, which I nearly missed because I got a little disorientated in Penn Station! Our tourguide Corey (who runs and own the company on his own) took us on a cool walking tour around Chinatown and the Lower East Side, where we tried sweet foods from 8 cool places that tourists wouldn’t really go to on their own! Highlights included AMAZING donuts from Doughnut Plant (like think 3498346 times better than Krispy Kreme – if you’re there I reccommend the Pumpkin, or the Peanut Butter Glazed with Blackberry Jam!) and a really cool candy store that was packed to the ROOF with candy, but was just away in a little alley and dirt cheap. We also had these cool little chocolate/cinnamon pastries at a kosher Jewish bakery. Yum. There was also gelato, canolli, Chinese cream cakes, cupcakes and custard tarts from a Chinese bakery, but I paced myself and only ate at every second place and only little bits.

The tour didn’t finish until after 6pm, so I caught the 6 train back to 51st and Lexington and went back to my room. I was going to have dinner with Claire, but she wasn’t feeling well, so I decided to go for a walk about 9pm to get some dinner, and ended up at a little dinner a few blocks over. One of the things I have enjoyed so far about travelling by myself is the freedom to do what you want, when you want. And if you want to go to a diner and eat pancakes for dinner at 9:30 at night, you can do that!

I just wanted to make a note that somebody (who didn’t leave their name) left a comment on my last blog calling me closed minded for my opinion on the production of WICKED that I saw on Saturday afternoon. I just want to point out something that should be obvious to all – this is MY blog, and MY opinion. I respect the opinions of others, and hope that others can accept that these are only my opinions, and that things like theatre performers (and food choices, and what kinds of things you like to visit in NYC and so on and so on) are all an “each to their own” type of thing.

I just also wanted to say a big HI and shoutout to my awesome friend Denise who gave me all sorts of notes, books, hints, tips, spreadsheets and lectures on NYC before I came. She gave me an awesome little notebook called the New York City Moleskin which has been my “Bible” (for lack of a better phrase) while in NYC, and all her little tips have been invaluable (except that of not to wear thongs for walking – I wore my Vans yesterday thinking they would be a better option than thongs – WRONG! I now have blisters on both of my little toes bigger than my toenails!!! My advice on this would be to go with whatever YOU personally feel comfortable in, and if that’s thongs, go for it – even if you feet are a little black at the end of the day!!

This entry was posted in Food, New York, Travel, USA 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NYC Day 2: Blisters & Sweet Delights!

  1. Shelley says:

    I kind of wish I went by myself for just that reason, tons of freedom to do what you want, when you want! I feel like I missed out on quite a bit by having two other people with me ALL the time.

    Sounds like you are having an awesome time 😀

Leave a Reply

