Top 10 reasons American’s are fat (my take on American food on day 5!)

I bet this surprised you! You’re all like, wait, it’s not the end of the day, how can she be blogging already!

Here is a list for you of my top 10 foods while I’ve been in New York. Not necessarily things New York is famous for, but things that I have eaten more than once and keep going back for since getting off that plane from Sydney;

#10. Flipz. Also known as Chocolate Covered Pretzels. These things are a little bit of heaven for sweet/salty lovers like myself!

#9. Poland Spring Water. Okay. This won’t make you fat. But I’ve been drinking a lot of it. And it comes in an AWESOME bottle with a cool poptop lid – and you all know that little things like that excite me! Yay for water!

#8. Junior Mints. These things are addictive as hell, and yummy. It should be illegal to have such easy access to them. Think like an after dinner mint, but round. And because you’re buying them fresh in the US, the mint in the middle is always really runny (unlike the ones that you get imported in Australia that have sometimes gone thick and hard…)

#7. Hotdogs. One thing New York (and the US) is famous for. If you buy them from the street vendors around NYC they’re more like Warm Puppies, because they aren’t hot, and it’d take about 3 or 4 to fill the normal Australian girl up, but they sure are tasty!

#6. Tropicana Grapefruit Juice. Never have I seen somewhere that grapefruit juice is in such great supply since New Zealand. And boy is it yum! The only thing that would be better is if it was yellow grapefruit juice instead of pink, but beggars can’t be choosers! And it comes in a 4.4oz carton which is the perfect size!

#5. Doughnuts. But they have to be from Doughnut Plant. Technically this place doesn’t fit my specifications, because I only went there once, but if this place was within any distance of easy-access to my hotel I would have been back again. And again. And again. If you ever go there make sure to try the peanut butter & jelly or the pumpkin. YUM.

#4. Poptarts. Who needs to put poptarts in the toaster? I wouldn’t even know what they taste like toasted! They come in a box of 8 with 4 little foiled packets of 2 each, perfect as a meal replacement on the run. They are so tasty… Perhaps a meal replacement diet should pick these things up, if not for the fact that they have 200 calories each. Oops.

#3. Minute Maid Pink Lemonade. I think I have this stuff flowing through my veins. Pink Lemonade is one thing I cannot get enough of. It’s pink, it’s sweet, it’s not carbonated (unless a waiter in a diner tried to impress you by concocting his own pink lemonade recipe from Sprite and Strawberry syrup when they don’t stock it!) and it’s TASTY! Somebody stop me now.

#2. Pancakes with Bacon. Something I used to whip up as home as a speciality breakfast for friends is at my fingertips. EVERYWHERE. Pancakes, butter, syrup and bacon. My only grip is that the bacon seems to be deep fried and so not even the tiniest bit soft, but even that doesn’t stop this from being number 2 of my list. Heart attack here I come.

[Drum Roll Please…]

Brrrrrrrrrrrrr…….

#1. Danishes. YUM. These things are like a gift from God. And with an amazing deli called Azure on the corner of 51st and 3rd, the nearest intersection to my hotel, I think I may just go and grab 2 for breakfast this morning, since it’s my last day here. Paired with #6, it is the perfect breakfast. Fresh apple danish for only $1.25. That’s like HALF PRICE on Sydney terms.

PS. Can someone please book me in for a gastric band and a cholesterol check when I get home. I think I have gained 5lbs in New York City alone!

Happy eating!

This entry was posted in Food, New York, Travel, USA 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 10 reasons American’s are fat (my take on American food on day 5!)

  1. Rochelle says:

    Can I just say I lived on poptarts when I was there as well… Not really an exciting comment but yeah, lol.

    • Cyndi says:

      I’m totally living on them at the moment. When I went to the Poptarts shop the other day they were giving out free samples and I had the cookies & cream one. Then I bought a box last night. They taste EXACTLY like oreos. Like, it’s basically an excuse to eat oreos for breakfast, Lol!!

  2. Pingback: 10 reasons why I never want to leave the USA! | The other side of the world

Leave a Reply

