A quick drive to Saranac Lake (attn: pretty pictures inside!!)

So today I had a free afternoon, and since I now know both the Potsdam and Massena Walmart’s back to front, I thought it was time to do a little bit of sight-seeing of a different kind.

Jen is always talking about how pretty Saranac Lake and Lake Placid are, so I had 4 hours to kill, so decided to go for a drive in search of snow… and I found it!

I found snow about 20 miles of out Potsdam before a little place called St Regis Falls. It’s was so pretty, it was like someone had been through and sprinkled it along the sides of the roads and on the trees.

Saranac Lake itself was just a tiny little place. I had a little look in a few shops and then turned around to drive back pretty much. I was going to go on the last 9 miles to Lake Placid but it was getting late in the afternoon and I wanted to make it back to Potsdam before dark.

On the way back I saw a bunch of Amish kids playing in a front yard and took a photo of them – now I’ve heard that the Amish don’t like their picture taken, but straight after I took the picture about 5 or 6 of them waved at me. It was quite cute.

Also, daylight savings ended last night (which for all your playing at home means I am now 16 hours behind Sydney time) and so it gets dark earlier now. This is a photo of the sun starting to set… at 3:55pm! WEIRD!

Oh, and as a bonus: apparently Potsdam has sorority houses! I thought these things were only something out of a movie!!

This entry was posted in New York, Photos, USA 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

