My Top 40 (music, who can live without it?)

A digression from my usual topics (America, food, snow, travelling) as I decide to write about the top 40 songs on my iTunes currently.

Hopefully you’re not having a heart attack (or dying of boredom) from 3 blogs in one day. Sorry.

But I was perusing my iTunes earlier (like, 2 minutes ago) after wondering for a while if when you sync your iPhone with iTunes it somehow knows how many times you’ve listened to a song on your iPhone and adds it to your total on iTunes. And apparently, it does.

I was kinda shocked (and sickened, and embarrassed) to find that my top played song is “Eenie Meanie” by Justin Bieber and Sean Kingston. Eek. 91 plays.

(Of course, I will throw in a quick mention here that iTunes obviously doesn’t count the spins of the “Speak Now” CD that is permanently jammed in my Chevvy Tahoe’s CD player on repeat, so we’ll ignore that… but just remember, that means that JB isn’t actually my #1!)

I’m not going to list my full top 40, but will point out honorable mentions.

Taking up a good chunk of my Top 40 is the WICKED soundtrack – numbers 2, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 16, 18, 29, 33, 35, 36 & 37… I have to say that I haven’t loved anything (other than Hanson and Taylor Swift) with quite as much intensity as I threw at WICKED this year. If you haven’t seen it, DO IT. You will not regret it!

Taylor Swift is in there, of course, although not as high as she should be due to the afforementioned CD spinning. Today Was a Fairytale is the highest ranking, at #3, with Back To December (#8), Mine (#9) and Fearless (#10) filling out the top 10. Speak Now bonus track Ours makes an appearance at #17 as well as Mean, Long Live and The Story of Us between 20 and 40.

Other favourites that you should download (if you haven’t already): Boston by Augustana (#15), Remember to Breathe by The Lees (#7), Shake It by Metro Station (#20), Thinkin’ ’bout Somethin’ by Hanson (#35) and my newest favourite, Introducing Me by Nick Jonas, squeezing in at #40 (although I think 10 of it’s 25 hits that squeezed it into the top 40 were from Alex’s dance party today!)

And this was pretty much pointless, but what can I say… I like to talk!

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

