New York, New York! (the one where I got to see Kristen Chenoweth sing POPULAR!)

I’m baaaaaaaaack! (Or I was…)

(Yes, I do realise that this is like 3 weeks late… sorry! I started writing it, saved it as a draft and then forgot about it! Nonetheless, enjoy!)

For Thanksgiving weekend we planned a trip down to the city. Jen’s grandmother lives just out of the city, and her family had planned to go down for the weekend, so Jen and I decided that we’d book into the hotel for the 2 days prior, and make our 2-night trip into a 4-day trip – easier on the kids, and included in our plan was a trip into the city to see the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade (which for you Aussies who don’t know, is a massive parade held in the streets of New York City that is televised and watched by millions of American’s on Thanksgiving morning).

Our plans were somewhat disrupted by a few incidents, starting early Thanksgiving morning. I woke up at around 5:30am to Christian coughing, and at about 5:45am it got worse, and ended with Jen rushing him to the hospital in an ambulance with croup. Our original plan had been to go into the city on the train around 6:30am, get a good spot, and wait for the parade. Unfortunately out little emergency left me in the hotel room with the girls and Amber (Jen’s brothers 15yo girlfriend) not knowing what to do – and ended with us getting ready, packing up the car, dropping off clothes and shoes to Jen at the hospital (as she’d rushed off in just her nightie and ugg boots) and then heading into the city on the train without them, an hour and a half later than planned.

When we actually go into the city the streets were packed, and it was cold. We had the double stroller and found a spot half a block from where the parade rounded a corner, where we could sort of see the balloons passing by. After about 15 minutes the girls were bored, we were cold, and we got a call from Jen who had arrived in the city, and so we aborted plan-parade and headed for a diner for brunch.

Our second incident of the day involved the big Toys ‘R’ Us store in Times Square. We went in with plans to ride the big ferris wheel there, but when we found out that the line was an hour long we dropped that. We decided to split up for 15 minutes, each taking one child to pick out a toy, and decided on a meeting place.

And then Taylor got lost. Somehow she got free and ran away (after a tantrum over wanting a toy that was out of the “budget”). I alerted security and Jen, and (thanks to me writing our phone numbers on her arm in Sharpie before we left the hotel) we found her in less than 5 minutes. Scary thought though – what do you do if you lose a child in a very public place and they DON’T have a phone number written on them. Eek. (I just want to make note that she wasn’t in my care at this point either! I did not lose a child!)

The hotel we stayed at (The Westchester Marriot for those playing along at home) was beautiful, and we have comfy beds with good feather pillows and a beautiful pool area that we used a lot! It was great being back in the water after so long! We ate in the hotel restaurant for Thanksgiving Dinner, and had apple pie with icecream for dessert.

Jen’s family arrived on Friday night, so on Saturday I relished the opportunity to sneak away from the group and spend a day in NYC on my own. I went in on the train on Saturday morning, and missed my intended train by about 30 seconds (due to not being able to work the ticket machine!) and then realised that my new train got into Grand Central at 11:44 – giving me 16 minutes to get to 52nd St for Wicked Lottery (I mean, how could I be in NYC and not lotto?!?!)

Thankfully on the train the people I sat near were also heading to a lottery for another musical, so I grabbed a cab with them (which the mom paid for, in return for me getting a cab so quickly!) and then ran the last 4 blocks from 48th to 52nd. Unfortunately I didn’t win the lottery, but everything happens for a reason, and I was able to get a matinee ticket (at half the price of the cheapest Wicked! ticket) to Kristen Chenoweth’s current musical “Promises, Promises”, which is something I wanted to see before I left the country, and all the more urgent since it was recently announced that Kristen will be leaving the show in January.

The show was wonderful, and Kristen has an amazing presence on stage. Molly Shannon was also amazing! And the best most amazing part (which was totally unrelated to the show) was that at the end, the cast were fundraising for something, and auctioned off Kristen Chenoweth to SING “Popular” (from Wicked) to a couple of lucky people on stage… but we all got to watch. I was in musical theatre HEAVEN.

Let me just reitterate how much I love New York City. I LOVE NEW YORK CITY.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Broadway Shows, New York, Special Events, USA 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New York, New York! (the one where I got to see Kristen Chenoweth sing POPULAR!)

  1. Rachel says:

    I know this is a heaps late reply but I read the blog ages ago and my friend mentioned this to me today so I thought I’d pass it on.

    http://www.mom4life.com/catalog.php?item=1982
    http://www.mom4life.com/catalog.php?item=1667

    A bit more effort than a Sharpie, but probably lasts longer as well.

    Ps loving all the food related blogs 🙂

  2. Alice says:

    I lost a child in that Toys R Us. Its not hard to do, he walked off and it is so busy! lol however when he lost me, he was very upset and we were looking for each other.

Leave a Reply

