A bli-WHAT? (and my most expensive cab ride ever!)

Snow. I am in love with it.

Wait, WAS in love with it. Until it cost me $265 and part of my sanity.

On Boxing Day (December 26th to all you American’s who celebrate your post-holiday sale shopping the day after Thanksgiving) I drove to Boston, MA with Jen and her family, and was supposed to catch a bus to Hartford, CT to catch up with Kathleen. Supposed being the operative word.

We were going to Boston because Jen and her family needed to go to the hospital in Boston, and since I was supposed to catch the train out of St Albans, VT, which wasn’t exactly on the way to Boston, we booked me a bus ticket out of Boston at 3pm that afternoon.

Except that a blizzard (bli-what?, you Australians are asking) hit Boston shortly before my bus was supposed to depart. And so after I traipsed through Boston South Bus Station with 80kg of luggage in tow, I find out that all buses after 1:30pm have been cancelled. And it’s currently about 2:15pm. CRAP.

Basically, to cut a long story short, the only options for me were to catch a train to somewhere 40 miles from my destination at $220, to stay in Boston until the storm “blew over” (ha) and then try to catch a bus with the hordes of people trying to get there was well, or to catch a $250 cab ride to Hartford. Guess which one I chose?

I am now broke beyond all means, and still slightly scarred from my trip (think a 2 ½ hour trip, basically on 3-laned highways, where you couldn’t see more than 6 feet in front of the car because the snow was falling so quickly. EEK!) But I got there alive (and to witness the foot of snow that had fallen in CT in the 6 hours prior to my arrival) and intact. Plus with the added benefit of not having had to drag my 80kg of luggage through any more bus or train stations.

So I am not so in love with snow anymore. It is nice when you can sit in your house and watch it fall while nursing a nice mug of hot chocolate. It’s great when you can spend half an hour playing in it, building a snowman, sledding down hills with kids in a blow up tube. But it is not so nice when it hampers your travel plans, shuts down airports (which thankfully were opened and running to schedule by the time I visited Boston Logan airport 4 days later) and costs you a lot of money that you hadn’t budgeted for.

But in the end of it all, you’ve had an adventure, and you probably have a great story to tell.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Boston, Crazy Weather, Travel, USA 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A bli-WHAT? (and my most expensive cab ride ever!)

  1. Pingback: 2012, the year that was at ‘usacyndistyle’ | The other side of the world

Leave a Reply

