She’s Gone Country (as in, THE country, not ANOTHER country… yet…)

As most of you know, I’ve spent the last few weeks in the country, and when I say country, I’m talking dust and boots. Middle of nowhere. NO CELL PHONE RECEPTION.

I took a job with a farming family at pretty much a moments notice, and arrived at the farm knowing pretty much only the kids names, ages, and that I’d be looking after them while the parents took care of harvest and shearing. I didn’t know until the day before that there would be not only no cell phone reception here (too late to pull out!), but also no wireless internet.

I’m writing this on my last day here – as I sit back and take in one last TV program from the green recliner in the lounge room. I’ve just done a 12 hour day, the kids are in bed, and I am stealing a few minutes between packing and SVU starting to put down my thoughts.

I’ve only spent a handful of weeks here, but I will miss these kids.

Edwina is a ball of energy, never sits still, doesn’t know the meaning of the word quiet, and wants to be just like me. In a few short weeks I’ve turned her into a mega Taylor Swift fan (ha!) and although I say I’ll be glad to get away from her shadow-like tendancies, I’ll miss her.  She is the smartest 4 year old I’ve met, and we have had some funny moments – including most recently, catching her in my room eating lollies, playing with my iPhone and helping pack my bag by sticking my toothbrush and mouthwash into my suitcase.

Fraser is the apple of my eye. Seriously. I have never taken to a baby the way I took to him. His gummy smile is enough to melt even the iciest of hearts, and is infectious, as I witnessed on some of my bad days here. In just a few short weeks I’ve seen him go from a lounging baby to a very fast moving, crawling baby… and you even though you try not to crack a smile, it’s hard not to when he repeatedly tries to suck his thumb while eating breakfast. And don’t get me started on letting him fall asleep on my chest while watching Igglepiggle.

I’ve travelled the local area (clocking up nearly 800km in just one week) and visited Cowra for swimming lessons and Young for shopping.  I spent a day in Canberra, my first visit to our nation’s capital.

I’ve learnt a lot about myself out here.

I find it hard to live without texting. I don’t like snakes. I bake a mean chocolate, coconut & sultana slice. I don’t mind driving 200km in a day for swimming lessons. I love hard.

My next stop is New Zealand. 4 days with my Dad, brother & Tash – I can’t wait.

And then… my next adventure. Check back soon for more info. This one is kinda big!

This entry was posted in Au Pairing, Australia, Kid Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

