Let’s Zumba!! [I finally joined the party!]

So I did it. I gave in. I “joined the party”. The Zumba party, that is.

I’m not really one to step out of my comfort zones too far. I know what I like, I know what I’m good at, and if you think you’ll often see me throwing myself to the lions, by attempting to participate in some type of physical activity that I know isn’t really my cup of tea, you have another thing coming.

But I did it. For over a year now I have been meaning to “join the party”. The gym is one place that sometimes (rarely, but sometimes) I try to step out of my comfort zone, just to prove myself wrong. I don’t think I’d be able to run  today if I hadn’t have stepped out of my comfort zone. But Zumba is not running. Zumba is also not weight lifting, nor is it cardio-based martial arts, both of which I have attempted in the past, and am actually good at, to some extent. No, Zumba is DANCING. Eek. But, it’s something that was being talked up, taking gyms by storm, and I wanted to have a go at it.

So, last week, after much talk about how Maria and I have these gym membership cards that must be nearly going mouldy from sitting unused, we decided to take a Zumba class. Well, actually, to be honest, I decided, and dragged her along, knowing full well that she is less co-ordinated than me, and might possibly make me look good (what a great friend I am, right?!) I went into the class freaking out. I am not overly co-ordinated when it comes to dancing. I don’t “get down” in the club. I can count, and I enjoy music, but my body is much better at lifting weights than it is at wiggling in a particular way (and looking good while it wiggles).

But you know what? I enjoyed it. I looked weird, and I know I did a LOT of standing around and staring, because I had no idea what was going on, but I enjoyed myself, I moved, and I laughed. And then, I went back on Thursday night. And then again tonight.

And so all I really wanted to say, is that I will not be giving up my day job. I am not cut out to be a bellydancer, or a latin dancer, or any type of dancer for that matter. My favourite is the dance where you look kind of like a monkey, and there is a lot of turning that makes you dizzy.

But I have learnt that maybe we shouldn’t be so self-concious about trying things like this. I was worried about looking uncoordinated and silly, but I learnt that a lot of the other women there are worried about looking silly too. And a lot of the other women there DO look silly. So I guess what I’m saying is, even if you think you look silly doing something, give it a try. Because after you have tried it once, there is always going to be someone who is newer than you, and looks more silly than you do. And someone with a bum bigger than yours.

And as far as I’m concerned, as long as I’m moving, and as long as I’m burning those calories, I don’t care how silly I look, since everyone else looks kinda silly too!

PS. If you want a little more Zumba-based entertainment, check out this funny blog post I found when searching for Zumba’s “catch-phrase” (which is “join the party” in case you hadn’t guessed!)

This entry was posted in Fitness, Musings, USA 2011/2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let’s Zumba!! [I finally joined the party!]

  1. as long as you are having fun! most important. btw…i see your kicks in the pic – awesome!!

  2. gina says:

    Hi Cyndi, thanks for linking to my blog! I have been a bit offline for a few months. I’m just getting back in and I noticed some traffic coming from your blog. I am so glad you liked Zumba. I dance like a robot for the most part, but I don’t care. It’s too much fun to worry about that. And like you said, there is always someone less coordinated than you 🙂

Leave a Reply

