It’s my city – I’m the King of New York!

It was time to go back. There is something about New York City that drags me in. 90% of it is probably Broadway. I can’t go to New York without seeing a Broadway show. It’s part of who I am. But it’s true, that New York City has a little something-something about it that makes you want to go back again and again, at least for me. And so we did.

Driving down 5th Avenue

Maria and I took the bus from Alewife Station at 6am Saturday morning. Sounds all well and good, until you factor in that the Richmond vs. Melbourne game (Australian Rules Football, for those of you playing along at home) started at 11:45pm Friday night here in the US, and it finished around 2:30am. I umm-ed and ahh-ed about whether or not I should stay up to watch the game (knowing full well that last time I ventured into New York on less than a few hours sleep it was a pretty long, exhausting day) but in the end the feeling that we were finally going to win a game kept me up… and thankfully we did win! But, in turn, that meant that when my alarm went off at 4:40am, I’d only had 2 hours sleep, and I felt it.

The weather forecast has changed overnight, and so I took my raincoat out of my backpack, and substituted a small pillow instead, in an attempt to sleep on the bus. Unfortunately, but the time we got to the bus and got on, I was wide awake. I finally was able to fall asleep around 8am, and then was jolted awake about 9am when the driver slammed on his brakes. Ugh.

We got to the city at 10:30am. Our hotel, The Carlton, was only a 15 minute walk from the bus stop, so we made our way there, and thankfully our room was ready to check in (yay) so we were able to have a quick rest and dump our stuff before heading off.

After a quick stop in at Pinkberry (my new obsession, more on that later) for breakfast, we headed up to the Nederlander Theatre where the musical ‘Newsies’ has just opened. Friends of mine at home encouraged me to go and see it on Broadway if I had the chance, but the tickets are pricey, and with it just having opened (for a limited engagement), almost sold out. We headed to the lottery… and BINGO, I won! Pretty exciting, since although I have been to a lot of shows on lottery tickets, rarely is it my name that is called!

 

BINGO!

 

It was a beautiful day in New York, around 22 degrees by midday, so we headed up to Pie Face, the Australian Pie chain that has opened in NYC, and got pies for lunch, and then sat in the sun on the little plaza on Broadway and 51st street and ate our pies. It’s so nice to be able to walk around New York in just a tshirt and jeans, and not have to strip off coats, hats, gloves and scarves as you go in and out of buildings!

First pie I've eaten in nearly a year!

Newsies was amazing. My friends know their shows, but I wasn’t prepared for the talent of the predominantly male cast. The lead is played by Jeremy Jordan – not of 1990’s fame for being a pin-up boy, whose body I once had stuck over my bed, at age 8, (and later playing one of the lead roles in Drew Barrymore’s “Never Been Kissed”), but the one who recently started alongside Dolly Parton and Queen Latifah in the movie “Joyful Noise”. The dancing was amazing – some of the cast were previously finalists on ‘So You Think You Can Dance’ and the talent was just amazing. Those boys tapped, leapt, spun, flipped… I was a little bit in awe. The storyline keeps you hooked until the end, and of course, it has a happy ending.

With Jeremy Jordan, the star of 'Newsies'

After the show, we met up with Veronica, an Aussie who is an au pair in Philly, and we headed to The Australian for dinner. Seriously, I was in love. That place felt SO MUCH like home it was crazy. Veronica drank Coopers, we ordered dinner (parma, bangers & mash and fish & chips), talked to other Aussies, were shouted drinks for answering questions (LOL) and we didn’t really want to leave…

Giant American-Sized, Australia-Style Parma!

While we were there, I got a call from an old friend of mine that I met at summer camp in CT in 2005, who is now a NYPD Cop. He was down in Manhattan bringing someone to court (haha, a day in the life) and he stopped in to say hello. He walked in the door of the pub, and all the staff turned and looked. I mean, he is about 6’6” tall, but apparently police in bars in America is very unheard of and uncommon! We quickly stepped outside to chat as not to cause a fuss, haha. I was very amused to see that not only did he have a gun (lol) but that he was wearing a bulletproof vest. Wow. I guess that’s what you get for working in the Bronx!

We had tickets to an Off Broadway musical called “Fat Camp”,  so we hustled back to the hotel to clean up, and then caught a cab up to 55th Street to see the show. We made it just on 8pm, and laughed our way through the 2 hours of musical comedy. I mean the “Butt Song”? Haha. I thought Molly Hager (as Taylor) and Carly Jibson (as Daphne) were amazing!

Afterwards, I was on the prowl for some Pinkberry… and Veronica had never been before (blasphemy!) so we walked the 20 blocks down there, and of course it started to sprinkle as we walked. Luckily it didn’t turn into a downpour, and we finally made it to Pinkberry to indulge in some parfaits, yum yum!

Taking Veronica's Pinkberry Virginity!

Our original plan for Saturday night was to head back to The Australian to watch the Hawthorn vs. Adelaide game at 1:15am, but by 11pm we were wiped, and the thought of staying up that late made me feel physically sick, so we called it a night and took a cab back to the hotel, where we said goodbye to my new favourite Ausmerican, Veronica, before falling into a sleep-deprivation coma (complete with my newest favourite item – pink earplugs that I have been sleeping with in my ears for the last 4 nights, and make the world of difference to me being woken 3 times a night by noises!)

And then we woke up on Sunday morning. But that is a whole other blog post in itself!

This entry was posted in Broadway Shows, Food, Friends, New York, Travel, USA 2011/2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s my city – I’m the King of New York!

  1. That looks like so much fun! Love the pics!

  2. Pingback: How do you solve a problem like Maria? [I miss her] | The other side of the world

  3. Pingback: Crazy experiences with Intercourse [PA, that is] | The other side of the world

Leave a Reply

